So happy!

11 Nov

Isn’t it funny how life seems to work itself out? Today, I’m really starting to notice how things in my life are falling into place and how lucky I am that things are happening the way they are. Originally, I had my flight booked back to Denver on Nov.27th so I could go home to get my work visa. Over the last few days, I have changed my flight to Nov. 18th so I can make it to my best friend, Maggie’s, fundraiser in St. Louis, Missouri with my sister and her husband, Steve. (I also get to be home to celebrate my dad’s 64th birthday the day after I arrive!!) Anyway, if you don’t know, I have been best friends with Maggie since I moved to St. Louis when I was three. I actually remember the day that we met. My mom and I decided to take a walk down our street to see if there were any other kids my age in the neighborhood. We made it to the cul-de-sac at the bottom of the street and found Maggie pushing her little brother, Andy, in a stroller. Maggie immediately said “hello” and asked me to play with her. Ever since that day, we have been best friends. We even coordinated our outfits to wear to elementary school so we could match. Even though I moved to Denver after fifth grade, Maggie and I still kept in touch and manage to see each other almost every year. Anyway, about a month and a half ago Maggie was diagnosed with breast cancer. Being 23-years-old this news was a surprise to all of us. Thankfully, Maggie is such a strong, courageous woman with such a big support system that I knew she would battle this till wits end. Being almost 8,000 miles away from my best friend has been so hard and there have been nights where I wish I could be by her side through all of this. Thankfully, with the help of my dad’s Marriott hotel points and mine and Lindsay’s spontaneity we are heading to St. Louis on Nov. 20th! Whenever I think about seeing Maggie I just want to jump up and down! If any of you want to follow Maggie’s journey through her eyes, take a look at her blog. I have to admit, she is a wonderful writer in how she makes you feel like you are right beside her for her whole journey, no matter how far away you may be. http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/23withbreastcancer

On another note, I get to be home for Thanksgiving AND Christmas! Joachim and I were talking the other day about how crazy it is that my job situation ended up exactly the way I wanted it. Thank god I found Pyramid when I did (2 weeks after being here) because it has taken this long to get everything together in order for me to work there. I am so excited to start working for the company and to learn a new culture in the business world. I actually think I’m going to like working over here better than in America because they don’t have the “all work no play” attitude like most American companies tend to have. It actually worked to my advantage that I have to go home to get my work visa because now I get to see my family and friends and spend the holidays with them. Of course I am going to miss the hell out of Joachim but we know that once I get back we won’t have to worry about finding me a job or when I have to leave again. It’s simply going to be MY decision when I want to leave, not the immigration board! 🙂 Yippee!

I think that’s all I have for now!

Much love,

Hadley

 

Leave a Reply

