Apartment hunting (no more)

21 Feb

This morning Joachim and I met with the company that has helped us find apartments in Helsingborg. We came to a conclusion that the first apartment we saw was the best choice for us. I don’t know if I mentioned it, but we saw another apartment on Friday that was a little outside of the city. To sum it up, I felt like I was going to see a drug deal every time I turned a corner. Enough said. We decided to pick the first one for these reasons: for one, it’s REALLY close to my work-it will probably take me 10 minutes to walk or five minutes to bike (if Joachim will ever get a new bike tire) to my office once we move in. Two, it’s within a 10-minute walk from the heart of downtown. Three, there is a grocery store and a gym across the opposite street that will only take us three minutes to walk to. Finally, (most importantly to Joachim), it is above a pizzeria! Haha. Anyhow, I’ve had to settle and become one with the fact that the kitchen is probably no bigger than my mom and dad’s closet at home (not exaggerating on that one) and realize that the living room’s and the bedroom’s size makes up for it.  We are thinking of adding a table on the side of the living room so we can have a place to sit and eat besides the couch! Lol. Our move-in date is April 1st (not a joke) and we still have to figure out a way to get up to Mora (Joachim’s hometown that’s an 8 ½ hour drive from here) to bring down some kitchen stuff and sell his couch to his mom. The catch is, there is no way in hell that Joachim’s car can make it that far (it can barely make it to Malmo which is a 45-minute drive from here) so we’re trying to figure that one out. Also, we are a bit worried because we are going to have to buy A LOT of things for the new place. The apartment we are currently renting, we are renting with the furniture in it so it’ll be a long process of buying things from IKEA. It actually scares me to think about everything that we need but we are lucky enough that Joachim’s dad has offered his old bed to us. That’ll decrease the costs significantly because we all know how much beds cost. That just leaves us to a new: couch, coffee table, dining room table, chairs, TV, TV stand and all the other decorating things that we need (of course).  I’ll keep you posted with how this all turns out. (Insert plead for donations here).

On another note, Joachim had a floorball game yesterday and he scored a hat trick (three goals for those of you who don’t know)! He got offered to practice with the highest team this summer but isn’t sure if he wants to dedicate four days a week to floorball when summer is the ONLY time the sun comes out here! We’ll see how that ends up. Simon’s team also had a game in which they won. The floorball finals are in Malmo this year (usually in Stockholm) and are during the second week of April. Our friend Robin, who came to the US this summer with Joachim and some other Swedes, is flying down to stay with us for that weekend. It looks like we are going to rent a hotel room in Malmo for that weekend, go to the game, and go out afterwards. Should be a fun time.

On the work front, everything is going well. Things are starting to pick up for me since the passing of one of the other English copywriters to cancer last week. Things have been a bit off in the office since the news came on Thursday. It amazes me how close everyone is at my job and how caring everyone is for each other. I am very glad and lucky to work at such a place.

Before this post ends, I want to give a big shout out to my best friend, Maggie! This is the week that she gets her mastectomy and I want all of you to say a little something extra for her before you go to bed at night. I love you Magpie!!

Xoxo. BIG hugs to all of you!

Hadley

P.P.S Try to click on the link below. It should be a picture of the layout to our new apartment but I’m not sure it’s going to work before I post this! lol.

107150541.634290424665532228

Leave a Reply

