Rant and Rave

3 Mar

March 3, 2011

Hello friends and family!

I hope this week has been treating you nicely. Trying to do the best that I can at updating this blog once a week since I heard that my mom stopped reading it because she “thought I wasn’t doing it anymore since I haven’t written in AGES.” SO, here I am, trying to keep a promise to myself that I will keep up with this 🙂  I would really like to start adding pictures into my posts as well so I will do a better job at 1. Taking pictures and 2. Having them available to upload at the time of my sporadic postings.

Over the past week nothing TOO exciting has happened in my life. I have come to realize that living in Sweden most people don’t do much, if anything at all, during the week. Talking to my sister the other day, I realized how much I miss going out with my friends mid-week for dinner or even going out on a Thursday night to get some drinks. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s nice to go to the gym, and then home to make dinner after work and relax, but every now and then I would like to go out to dinner or do something “out of the norm” during the week. Okay, rant is over.

On another note, I think Joachim and I are going to be headed to Mora (his hometown) on March 18th or 19th to grab some leftover things he has stored up there. It looks like his dad, Bengt, and his step-mom, Lehna, are going to make the drive with us because they need to grab some things from a cabin that they have close to Mora also. I’m not really looking forward to the 8-hour drive but I am excited to see some of Joachim’s friends whom I met the first time I came to Sweden and Joachim’s mom, Carina, because Joachim is selling her his old couch. Also, Joachim said that we will be able to get the keys to our new apartment a week before our move-in date (April 1) so we can go back and forth with our stuff before we actually have to be out of our old place, which is nice.

I received my temporary personal number (social security number) yesterday in the mail but, as usual, they had my freakin’ birthday wrong! I swear, this whole process, which should only take a week or two has taken TWO months. This is the magic number that allows me to get a bank account, register for health insurance, etc.  Thankfully, Joachim has a bank account where my salary can be deposited or else I wouldn’t have been able to get paid the last two months. This whole process has been very frustrating and just makes me realize how disconnected most governments are with the people who live in their countries! Hmph! Oh well, sooner or later all things will be cleared and ready to go…probably just in time for me to have to apply for my VISA EXTENSION!

Let’s see. Oh! On Monday, my company surprised me with a brand new MacBook Pro and a brand new iMac desktop computer 🙂 The MacBook pro is hooked up to my desktop computer so I can have my e-mail open on one screen and work on another. My, my, my. Also, the mouse is programmed so when I roll off the right side of my desktop’s screen it gets picked up on my laptop’s screen for easy maneuvering. I can definitely say that they spoil me here!

All in all, things are going well. I still can’t believe I’ve only been gone for two months because it seriously feels like I have seen my friends or family for 6 months or longer. I’m still planning on coming home mid-July for two weeks (thanks to the 6 week vacation we get over here) and hopefully again for Christmas. Our doors are always open to ANY of you who want to wander over this way and visit us. I really hope some of you guys can figure out a way to come over here so I can show you around and you can get acquainted with my “European lifestyle.” I still remember my parents telling me me over and over when I was home for Christmas how “relaxed” I looked. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing because I am only 22 and need to live out my younger years, but I do feel a new sense of calm and relaxation since moving here. ANYWAY! I love all of you guys and I hope you are doing well. Text me sometime (it only costs .50 cents) or e-mail me at Hadley.mick@yahoo.com. My cell phone is (type it exactly like this) +46738260299.

Big hugs!!

Hadley

P.S. Lindsay (my sister) I’m serious about this whole bakery/me working with or for you whenever I get home! How great would it be to work and be successful together! AH! Imagine the possibilities! LOVE U!

Leave a Reply

