Uninspired :/

18 May

I’m starting to get a bit worried. For the last month or so, I have been so uninspired when it comes to making dinner that I usually just make a bowl of oatmeal :/ I used to be pretty good at finding recipes online, buying the ingredients and whipping together healthy dinners for Joachim and I, but lately the last thing I want to do is go searching for the ingredients at our local supermarket. I think one of the reasons why this is going on is because most of the recipes that I find online have ingredients that aren’t carried in the grocery stores over here. Also, finding the ingredients at the store is a bit tricky (and annoying) because I have to GOOGLE TRANSLATE all of them so I know what to buy when I get there AND the words for certain things here are a completely different thing in English.

For example:

Cilantro (in English) à Koriander (In Swedish) (which, for those of you who don’t know, is a completely different spice in English). How much sense does that make?

Also, I think I am secretly longing for a grocery store “run” with my dad. For those of you who don’t know, my dad and I have been going grocery shopping together since I can remember. He would pick me up from school on Fridays, with the grocery boxes in the back (so we didn’t have to use plastic bags)m and we would make our way to Shop ‘N Save, King Soopers or more currently, Safeway. We would always make our grocery store outings as fun as possible by throwing rolls of paper towels down the aisle (while perfecting our “spiral” and trying to avoid eye-contact with the other people in the store), picking things up out of the dairy section (cheese, yogurt), and doing a “think fast” move, throw it over our shoulder and see if the other person could catch it, and my favorite, listening for the “wet clean up on aisle ______” then I would sprint to that certain aisle, scout the area for the whatever caused the wet cleanup then RUN back to my dad to report if it was a “good” or “bad” one. I remember the best would always be when a jar of juice would fall off the top shelf and the aisle would look like a bomb went off.

Anyway, to some up this totally random post, I think I am longing for a few things:

1. An American grocery store, equipped with everything that I’ve grown to love

2.) A shopping trip that doesn’t involve my translation app on my phone and a sheet full of previously translated items from past grocery store outings.

3.) A trip to the store with the best dad in the world

Is that too much for a girl to ask for?

Hope you all are having a great week! Don’t forget it’s “hump” day so things will only get better from here. Also, if you live close to your family, don’t take it for granted that it doesn’t take 25 hours on numerous planes to get to see them.

Xo,

Hadley

2 Responses to “Uninspired :/”

  1. Mom May 19, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Hey, Had — so fun to read. Glad you have such wonderful memories of shopping w/ your Dad. He loved to take his girls to the grocery store. And, I was relieved that he chose to do all the grocery shopping w/ his girls. Safeway and your Daddy are waiting for you to come home. Can’t wait!

  2. Mom May 19, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    Charlotte is so very pretty. Glad you had such a great weekend together.

Leave a Reply

