Weekend recap

23 May

Happy Monday!

No, really. Thank God we made it to today after all that “rapture” talk over the weekend. I couldn’t be happier to live to see another Monday. Totally joking.

This past weekend was quite relaxing for a change. Friday night we met Simon and Lina at Olympia Arena to watch the Helsingborg “football” club play a game. It was quite exciting, being my first European soccer game and all, and we won, 1-0!

Saturday, Joachim and I slept in and then went for a nice run around the city. Does anyone else agree that running outside is like 1 million times harder than on a treadmill? By the end of the run I felt like I just completed a triathlon. Later that day, we went over to Simon and Lina’s had a barbeque with some really nice food. We all decided to head back to our apartment to watch a movie and since I decided not to drink that night, I was appointed the designated driver. Now, this wouldn’t be a big deal because I have had my driver’s license for almost 7 years now, but Joachim’s car is a MANUAL and the last time I drove a manual was in the Legacy High School parking lot, in my sister’s car, for a whole ten minutes (not getting over 5 mph). I have never driven a manual on a road, with real pedestrians and other cars around me so I was a bit nervous, but I decided I might as well give it a try since our apartment was only about a mile or two away. I managed to pull out of our parking spot without killing it and onto the main road where I was wishing that no lights would turn red. Unfortunately one of them did, and I managed to kill it, but I gathered myself and made it to the finish line. All in all, everyone was pretty impressed with my driving skills and compliments followed. Hopefully, I’ll have a few more driving lessons from Joachim before I hit the road again, but I do have to say, I did pretty well for my first official road journey!

Sunday, Joachim and I slept in again until about 11 and then decided it was time to clean up our apartment. It always feels so nice to walk into an apartment where everything is put in place and it smells fresh. After our cleaning spree, which only took us about 2 hours, we headed to IKEA to pick up a few more things for our place.

Among those things were:

A light for our living room

A giant picture for the empty wall that runs alongside the living room (it’s hard to tell from the picture just how big this thing really is)

A rug for the kitchen and a bathroom stand to hide all of our bathroom stuff (not pictured)

Also, Joachim finally put up the double-rail window curtain hanger thingie so we could put up the lacey, white curtain in front of the grey curtains in our bedroom. (see below).

All in all, it was a very nice weekend. It felt good to catch up on some sleep and not wake up on Sunday morning with a slight hangover. This is my last full week of work before we head to Spain, yippee! So hopefully it goes by quickly. Also (in case you aren’t aware) TWO weeks from today until this one turns 23. Yikes! I wish I could be home with the fam and friends to celebrate but Skype will suffice for now.

Miss all of you and can’t wait to see you in JULY!

Leave a Reply

