Man down

3 Aug

Before leaving work yesterday I received an e-mail from my mom telling me that my dad had fallen while walking to a restaurant in San Diego on Monday and had possibly broken 2 ribs. After work I called my dad to get filled in on what was going on. The story is that my dad was walking across the street when he saw a car headed toward him. He went to get out of the way and didn’t see the curb to the left of him. Unfortunately he tripped on the curb and landed on the left side of his upper body. Thankfully the car stopped and asked if he was okay. A bit embarrassed by what just happened, my dad said he was fine and just figured he got the wind knocked out of him. After dinner, he returned to the hotel to go to sleep and realized he was starting to be in a lot more pain. He forced himself to go to bed but woke up mid-morning, he realized that he could barely breathe. He called the ambulance (and my mom to make sure he had all the insurance information right), and then he was on his way to the hospital.

He is still in San Diego, with two broken ribs and another appointment for a CT Scan on Thursday to make sure an area outside his lungs is okay. And here I am, 6,000 miles away and feeling so sad that my dad has to be alone. When I decided to move all the way to Sweden, my number ONE fear was that something was going to happen to someone in my family or one of my friends and there would be nothing I could do to help. Hopefully my sister (my mom is on a business trip in Arizona) can make it out to California to help my dad out. Seems like even the smallest tasks give him massive amounts a pain – and having to do everything by himself isn’t any help. After I talked to him yesterday he was building up the strength to get into his rental car and DRIVE to get his pain medication.

Daddy, if you’re reading this, I love you and I know that you know that if I could be on the next flight to San Diego, I would. I hope the healing process doesn’t take too big of a toll out of your daily life and that you can become healthy and active soon! Stay strong so you can make the long trip over here in TWO weeks. I promise I won’t squeeze you too hard when I give you a hug 🙂

Love always,

Your moochka 🙂

Leave a Reply

