Weekend recap

8 Aug

Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend and were able to fit in everything you wanted to do before it was over. I spent this past weekend alone in our apartment while Joachim spent Thursday-Sunday in Prague with a bunch of his friends. Sounds like they had a great time drinking their way through the city but once he got home late last night he was more than ready to go to bed. I found myself hanging out with my co-worker/ friend Lykke for most of the weekend and we managed to have a great time together. Friday night we had dinner and wine at her place, Saturday we went to IKEA and the electronics store so she could purchase a new digital camera before we headed out on the town with two other co-workers of ours. Turned into quite a long evening when I walked into my apartment around 5:30 a.m., Sunday morning! Spent all day yesterday cleaning, putting some new IKEA things together and relaxing a bit before Joachim arrived.

To update you on my dad, he and my mom are headed back to Colorado today, Monday morning 🙂 Over the weekend the doctors weren’t sure if he would be allowed to come to Sweden because they were scared of clots forming in his legs. They gave him special compression socks to wear and are urged him to walk so he can prevent that as much as possible. Thankfully, after reviewing the x-rays, the doctor told him that he would be able to come to Sweden just as long as he wore those dorky-looking socks on the plane. I realize that he may not be in the best shape to be walking around for long periods of time but I’m pretty sure we’ll be able to work around that. I think everyone is relieved that things are going to start to get back to normal and he’s very happy to be heading home…to his own bed. From my research, it seems like 6-8 weeks is the normal healing time for broken ribs (well broken anything really) so by the time he gets here he’ll be about halfway through the recovery time.

Aren’t you all so proud of me for posting as much as I have this last week? Hopefully I can stay on my roll and keep updating you with little things here and there. Glad you are all still following my blog and like what I write. It means a lot that you all care!

Love love love,

Hadley

3 Responses to “Weekend recap”

  1. Megan August 8, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    OH my goodness I feel like the worst friend 😦 I’m just now reading what happened to your dad and actually I’m kind of glad I am reading NOW that we know everything is okay and not before when things were questionable. I feel so awful for him… terrible thing to happen, especially when it happens and you’re alone 😦

    I am glad he will be able to still come to Sweden! 🙂

    And your man is taking guys trips? I think this means a girls trip needs to get planned in the near future (after I have a job and stop being poor!). 🙂

    And keep posting!!!!!!! Now that I’m back in town I enjoy reading 🙂

    • hadleymick August 8, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Don’t feel bad! Everything is fine and I’m sure he’ll be an even better version of himself once he gets through this 🙂 I’m so thankful that he’s still coming to Sweden too. Can’t wait to make memories in my town with my family!!

      And about that girl’s trip. I definitely agree that one will have to be setup for the both of us sometime in the near future 🙂 how’s the job hunt looking? once you land one, we’ll plan a “celebratory” trip!

  2. lindsaymickwatne August 8, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Ikea! Glad you went, I’m still trying to hold back from going here…it’s just too dangerous! 🙂 Glad you had a fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

