Artist Spotlight

9 Aug

So I’ve been doing some thinking and have decided that I’m going to start mixing up my posts a little bit. Since I have gotten into a great roll with posting since I’ve been back from America, I figured I might as well switch up the “update-style” posts and add something a bit more intriguing and more interesting than, well…me. Anyway, people are always asking me about certain songs that come on my iPod when they are in the car with me or a song I put on while hanging out at our apartment. Because of this, I think it would be cool to write a sort-of music review, artist spotlight, blog post once (maybe more) a month to let you in on what really strikes my fancy when it comes to music.

On that note, I would like to introduce to you artist #1 on the new “artist spotlight” series…Andy Grammer. A little background about Mr.Grammer:

-Born in 1983 in Los Angeles but grew up in New York.

-Son of singer-songwriter, Red Grammer.

-At age 20 Andy returned to LA to pursue a career in music and became a “busker” (the actual word for guy who sings on the street I guess) in Santa Monica.

-Was discovered when a man heard him singing on the street and decided to see what he was all about.

-He opened for Plain White T’s on the second leg of their tour in Spring of 2011.

-In January 2011, he was named an “artist to watch” by Billboard magazine.

-He performed at the infamous SXSW 2011, where he was one of the artists contributing to a recording produced by Hanson to benefit the victims of the 2011 Japan earthquake.

-His debut album was officially released on June 14, 2011.

-He joined Natasha Bedingfield on her Less is More Tour, starting on June 2011.

*info taken from Wikipedia

What I like about Grammer is that his music is upbeat with very catchy hooks.  After listening to many of his songs, you’ll find yourself singing the chorus to yourself over and over. “Keep your head up” is his first single, which is quite a catchy tune. Luckily though, the rest of his CD is just as easy to listen to and takes the cake for that “happy music when you’re feeling down” type of day.

My favorite songs:

  1. Keep Your Head Up
  2. Lunatic
  3. The Pocket
  4. Love Love Love (Let You Go)
  5. Build Me a Girl
  6. Biggest Man in Los Angeles
Here’s one extra clip of him playing live in front of a few fans for a promotional tour. He’s just as good live as he is in the studio. True talent…. Numbers

Hope you all like this new series. Depending on the feedback, I may increase these “artist spotlight” posts. Also, let me know if you like Andy Grammer as much as I do!  🙂

4 Responses to “Artist Spotlight”

  1. Megan August 9, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    i love that you posted something like this!!! and i love finding new artists like this!

    • hadley06 August 9, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      oh good 🙂 glad you enjoyed it! i finally got caught up on your blog yesterday and i felt like i had WAY too much to comment on each post so I just kept it to myself! lol. promise to be more involved with your blog from now on 🙂

  2. lindsaymickwatne August 9, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Good suggestion! I’ve already downloaded a few of his songs! 🙂 Love you!

    • hadley06 August 9, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      yay! knew you would like his style 🙂 love you 2!

Leave a Reply

