An “I-miss-home-and-everything-about-it” kind of day

29 Sep

Not quite sure what brought on this weird mood today but I have a couple of guesses:

1. I actually woke up to AMAZING news this morning when I realized that the Cardinals made it to the playoffs! This was definitely a triumph considering that they were 10 1/2 games out starting on August 25th. Anyway, yes I’m happy about that, but I have NO ONE to celebrate with. This makes me really wish I could be in the States and discuss with other people the fact that doing what the Cardinals did is basically IMPOSSIBLE! Thus, my celebration is a bit muted here…even though I did wear red and white to work today 🙂

2. My grandma isn’t doing so well and had to be moved into a nursing home last week. My family has known for a month or so now that she wasn’t doing so well but it just seems as though her days are numbered. I get this helpless feeling when I realize that here is yet another thing that is happening to my family that I can’t be a part of. I know that it’s a blessing that she has lived for 95 years, but this just marks another thing going on in my family’s life…another one that I can’t be apart of.

3. And then that leads me into how much there are days when I REALLY miss my friends and family.Until I moved, I never realized how much I would miss just being able to call my sister to say hi or getting a call in the middle of the day from my mom or dad just to check in. Even though communication is way better now than it has ever been, it still has to be planned as to when calls or Skype dates are going to be arranged.

Enough with my sorrow-filled post. Just wanted to put out there what’s been going on today and maybe after writing this, try to put things in perspective. I am so grateful for every one that reads this blog and can hopefully relate to me in some way. And for all of you who live close to your family and friends, don’t ever hesitate to call and just say “hello” to someone you love. You never know, it could turn their whole day around.

One Response to “An “I-miss-home-and-everything-about-it” kind of day”

  1. Mom October 1, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Miss you, too, Had — every day. Skype is a life saver. Luv u 2 pieces. Your Momma

Leave a Reply

