Day #4

7 Oct

Today’s photo challenge reads:

A picture of something you did last night

Yes, that is a classrom. And yes, that is my teacher 🙂 And, as a matter of fact, this is really what I did last night (and every Tuesday and Thursday night I will be doing this until December 8th).

I finally got around to signing up for a legitimate Swedish class that is offered through Folk Universitetet, which is associated with the University of Lund. I will attend class for 1 1/2 hours, twice a week, for 10 weeks in hopes of becoming a better Swedish speaker. There are seven of us, total, in the class with 1 girl from Russia, 1 girl from Ukraine, 1 boy from Palestine, 2 boys from Lithuania and 1 other boy from Australia. It seems to be a pretty good mix of people and everyone is very nice to each other. Our teacher is a very sweet lady named Anna-Lena who lives just outside of Helsingborg. I am really eager to learn more Swedish and to be able to “hold my own” once and for all 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Day #4”

  1. Megan October 7, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    ahhh this is what i spend my mondays doing!!! except EVERYONE in my class is from lithuania and there is one from romania. and like no one speaks english besides me! 🙂

    it is helpful, but what i found to be the most helpful is actually taking what i learn in class and using it at home with andre 🙂 hope u have a great weekend!

    • hadleymick October 7, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      I actually lucked out because almost EVERYONE speaks great English in my class so we can take it at a faster speed. As of right now, I already knew pretty much everything we went over the first 2 days so hopefully we’ll get into some more challenging stuff :) 

      how do you think you’re doing with the class? do you feel like you are “coming along”?

      • Megan October 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

        you’re super lucky!!!!! the only girl who spoke any english in my class was moved up right away because she basically is fluent in norwegian (she has been here years!)…but she was lithuanian too 🙂

        i feel like the class doesnt really help per say, but it motivates me to speak at home. does your instructor just talk in swedish the whole time??? my class is 5 hours long and my attention span is like 2 minutes long…perhaps that is the problem!

      • hadleymick October 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

        oh my!! my instructor speaks english like half the time but she said that’s only because it’s the first week. we’ll see if she only speaks swedish from now on. does your instructor only speak norwegian the whole time? it’s actually better that way so that you don’t associate anything with english. do u know what i mean?

        and 5 hours. dang, girl. that’s impressive! haha

      • Megan October 7, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

        haha ohhhh yea my instructor speaks norwegian the WHOLE time. which is great…except i only comprehend 10% of what she says! so i always have to ask her to repeat or i just dont understand what is going on! sometimes i dont like it because im used to structure and i feel like this is immersion, which is nice, but i sometimes like a bit of explanation to get it in my head 🙂

        im excited to see how your progress goes!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

