Day 16

25 Oct

Hello everyone! Today’s photo challenge reads:

A picture of someone who inspires you

This is my best friend Maggie. As many of you have probably read in previous posts, Maggie and I have been best friends since I moved up the street from her when we were 4/5. We were inseparable growing up. Whatever Maggie did, I did. Whatever I did, Maggie did and we never could imagine it any other way. What you don’t know is a little over a year after we took this picture, Maggie was diagnosed with breast cancer. At the ripe age of 23, Maggie’s doctor told her that the lump she found in her left breast was in fact, cancerous. What I witnessed over the last year was that Maggie didn’t let this whole cancer thing take over her life. Yes, there were days when she was sick and was tired but she never stopped living her normal life. I was so glad that I got to visit her in St.Louis last November when I was home from Sweden for a bit. It was so refreshing to me that even though Maggie had lost her hair and was going through chemo, we still acted like those same little girls who grew up on Arbor Meadow Ct.

Maggie- you inspire me to never take a single day for granted. That no matter what, I can get through whatever turmoil may be going on in my life. I am so proud of you and so honored to tell people about my 23-year-old best friend who is a breast cancer survivor. And even though we may be a million miles apart,  you will always be my best friend.

Leave a Reply

