Day 30

14 Nov

It’s day 30 of the 30-day photo challenge! I did it! I actually posted a picture every day (during the week) the ENTIRE time and if I say so myself, I’m pretty dang proud that I did that 🙂 It feels good to post on a more regular basis and it also helps to get all of your sweet comments about how much you have been enjoying this little challenge. So for the last day, the photo challenge is:

A picture of someone you miss

This is a picture of my Grandpa Hartman (my mom’s step-father) who was the best grandpa any girl could ask for. My grandpa and I had this connection that I hope my children will someday have with my dad. It was like I could do no wrong in his eyes and he was SO proud of every little thing I did. He even kept EVERY, SINGLE seashell I found at the beach  and displayed them above the TV for all to see…all 574 of them! My grandpa knew how much I LOVED to save my money when I was little (I wish that carried on into my older years) so the one time I decided to splurge on a giant teddy bear at the mall (I think it cost 20 dollars), after I had paid, he pulled me to the side so no one else in my family could see a stuck 20 bucks in my pocket and said “shh, don’t tell.”

I wish he was around to see that young woman I’ve become. I know that he’s always around me, and he’s so proud of what I’ve done since he’s passed. Grandpa, if you’re reading this…I think about you more often than you will ever know and you were the BEST grandpa in the whole world. I promise to live the rest of my life the way you did; laughing the whole way through it. I love you Grandpa Hartman and I hope you and Grandma are having a grand ol’ time up there!

2 Responses to “Day 30”

  1. Mom November 17, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Grandpa would really love this tribute. He certainly did love his granddaughters. You two brought so much joy to his life. It was so fun to watch the two of you w/ him. Gosh, I do miss him, too.

    • hadley06 November 17, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      Let’s have a séance and see if we can talk to him!! I bet he’d have some funny stuff to say 🙂 I love you Mama!

Leave a Reply

