Some (really) big news

15 Nov

Joachim and I are moving back to AMERICA!

I was taught in Journalism school to write a really great headline to catch the reader’s attention and then spill the other stuff later on because the reader usually loses interest when they get halfway down the page. So there it is. The most important information is right up there. Yes, Joachim and I have made the decision to try our luck back in Colorado. Now, I know you’re probably wondering why and I’ll get to that, but just know that this hasn’t been the easiest decision ever (especially considering the visa situation) but we figured this was the best for the both of us, especially since we both eventually wanted to end up back in Colorado anyway.

So for those of you wondering, I was told by my company two weeks ago that my contract that expires on January 1st will not be extended any longer. It’s pretty normal over here to get hired for 6-12 months at a time and then see what the future holds. For those of you who don’t know, my job (along with my work visa) was the only thing that was allowing me to stay in Sweden for a long period of time. Unfortunately, it will expire 1 day after we planned to return to Sweden from our Christmas trip to Colorado, so I will not be able to return to Sweden with Joachim after the holidays… 😦

With 6 weeks left in the country, Joachim and I had some MAJOR planning to do in order to still be able to be together in the same country. Basically these were our options:

If we were to return to the US:

1. Joachim needs to get a work visa (finding a job, getting them to fill out work visa papers, etc. isn’t the easiest thing in the world)

2. Joachim needs to get a student visa (this could happen but the money situation is not ideal)

3. Get married! (ah, maybe we’re too young for that)

In order for me to come back to Sweden:

1. Find a job ASAP and get them to give me a work visa before I return back to the States so I can apply while I’m home (virtually impossible, given that I currently have 4 weeks until I leave)

2. Return to Colorado and fill out some forms to let me temporarily come back to Sweden (for up to two years) and THEN look for a job once I get back.

3. Return to Colorado, fill out the temporary forms and wait for the visa ALL THE WHILE I look for another job in Colorado.. (this could work but Joachim and I will have to be apart for a bit, once again)

So what do you think we decided to do exactly? Yes, I know you know that we decided to head back to Colorado but what do you think our plan is from there?

I’ll update you tomorrow! (love the suspense)

2 Responses to “Some (really) big news”

  1. Megan November 15, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    aghhhhhhhhhh how exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and congratulations (i secretly hope that yall are planning to get married!) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • hadley06 November 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      haha! it is VERY exciting, especially now that we know what the plans are. At first it was a bit scary, to say the least! lol. you’ll have to stay tuned for tomorrow to see what we ended up deciding!

Leave a Reply

