Skinnskatteberg med Mormor och Carina

28 Nov

Joachim and I just returned from a very lovely trip to a small town about 1 1/2 hours west of Stockholm named Skinnskatteberg. Try to say that twice! Since we are headed to Colorado for Christmas, we decided that it would be nice to make time to visit Joachim’s grandma and Carina before we left to celebrate the holidays with them and hang out for a bit. We had a very relaxing time and were so glad that we were able to visit for a while. I think I also surprised Joachim’s grandma with how much Swedish I have learned since the last time I saw her, which made her so happy that we could finally understand each other 🙂 She is such a nice lady and has the wittiest personality.

Mormor’s first iPhone experience!

The beautiful church on the outside of town. This is also the site where Joachim’s grandpa is buried. Quite peaceful.

Skinnskatteberg’s population is approximately 4,500 people and is also where Joachim’s mom grew up.

Mormor and I, making marzipan chocolate balls w/ peppermint topping (I forgot the swedish name for them, thus the lengthy english description!)

The finished product! SO good!

Sweet Mormor and Joachim

And finally, we spent some time going through old photo albums so I could see Joachim when he was younger…check out how ADORABLE he was! (And still is 😉 ) I couldn’t help but snap a picture of this…

Doesn’t he look like Jonathan Taylor Thomas? OMG I was obsessed with that guy when I was little. Just makes sense that I now date someone who looks just like him as a kid! HAHA!

Anyway, I am so thankful that we got to escape and spend some much-needed time with grandma and Carina. I just realized that I have no pictures of Carina from this trip, but I promise she was there 🙂 It really makes me thankful that Joachim has such a wonderful family who treats me like I have been a part of their family forever.

3 Responses to “Skinnskatteberg med Mormor och Carina”

  1. suitcaseandstilettos November 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    hahhaah i love that young photo of him!!!!!!!

    and mormor is adorable 🙂 especially the overwhelmed look on her face as she plays with that iphone LOL 🙂

    • hadley06 November 28, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      haha isn’t he adorable?! i thought maybe i was a bit biased because he’s my boyfriend… 🙂 Glad someone else agrees with me! And Mormor, she is like the image of the “perfect” grandma…always smiling, gives you little squeezes and hugs, thinks you never do no wrong. I am so lucky that i can now call her my “mormor” as well 🙂

  2. Mom December 3, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    I’m so glad that you and Joachim took the time to make this visit. It is so very important. The pictures are wonderful and make me want to come back and visit that little town, meet Mormor, and see Carina again. You’ve had and continue to have such a wonderful experience in Sweden. So, is Joachim getting Mormor an iPhone for Xmas? Would love to know what she thought of all that technology at her fingertips. THAT is a great pic of the both of them. Joachim still looks very much like he did when he was little — hope he still has that Santa hat and plans to bring it w/ him. If not, I’m sure we can find one here. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

